Okeeheelee Middle School Update

Get Ready Students! REMOTE LEARNING BEGINS Tuesday, March 31st
Posted on 03/28/2020

Okeeheelee Middle School Update               
Get Ready Students! REMOTE LEARNING BEGINS Tuesday, March 31st


Important! You do not have to check out a Chromebook from the school to access your student portal and Google platforms. If you have internet, and a computer, laptop, tablet, or a mobile device (with data plan), then you are good to go!


OMS Student Schedule
Period 1: 8:45am-9:30am
Period 2: 9:30am-10:15am
Period 3: 10:15am-11:00am
Lunch: 11:00 am-1:00 pm
Period 4: 1:00pm-1:45pm
Period 5: 1:45pm-2:30pm
Period 6: 2:30pm-3:15pm

Attendance will be taken. Please do your best to visit each class by 4 p.m. to be counted as present.

Your teachers will reach out to you (if they haven't already) to invite you to their Google Classrooms. 

Google Meet is a video conferencing platform available to all students on their SDPBC Student Portal. It allows you to both conduct live video conferences and record sessions that can be shared with others. Students may download the Google Classroom and Meet Apps on their phones and other personal devices. Students MUST use their school district portal and email account to access all SDPBC Google platforms.

While on video conferences, students are not expected to wear an Okeeheelee uniform, but must dress appropriately. (Boys must wear shirts, no pajamas, no low cut shirts or crop tops, etc.)

Please note that students are always required to follow the School District's Code of Conduct. This means principals and teachers should continue to hold students to our high expectations during virtual instruction.

For technical support, please contact the IT Service Desk at (561) 242-4100.
Please know that distance learning is new for everyone, and we expect there will be a lot of questions as we make this transition. Please be patient, and contact your teachers with any questions you may have. We are here to help.
Mrs, Morales
Principal, Okeeheelee Middle School


Need Help Accessing the District Portal?
The following videos provide information about how students and families can access the District Portal in order to engage in distance learning. This content is available in English, Spanish, Haitian-Creole, Q'anjobal/Akateko, Mam, ASL (American Sign Language), and Portuguese.

School-Related Coronavirus Hotline
Have school-related Coronavirus questions? Call the Coronavirus Information Hotline. Representatives will take your calls from 9:00 a.m. to 3:30 p.m., Monday - Friday. Representatives will be available in English, Spanish, and Haitian-Creole. The number for the School District’s Hotline is (561) 969-5840.
IT Service Desk
Have technology-related issues on a District device? Contact the IT Service Desk at (561) 242-4100


Resources for Parents and Students
School District Distance Learning- Information and Resources website
The Parent’s Guide to Google Classroom (District produced)
The Parent’s Guide to Google Classroom (outside resource)
SDPBC Instructional Continuity Support Plan
Helping Children Cope with Covid-19
Stuck At Home Series With Dave & Blake (Virtual workshops for students)
Translated Directions for Using Google Translate
Etiquette for Meet/Hangouts
Ed Tech Office Hours - ask questions directly; subscribe to their training calendar
Web Page: https://okeeheelee.org

Important Email Addresses:
Principal: Eli Morales- elizabeth.morales@palmbeachschools.org
6th Grade Assistant Principal: Dwight Stewart- dwight.stewart@palmbeachschools.org
6th Grade School Counselor: Leslie Brooks- leslie.brooks@palmbeachschools.org
7th Grade Assistant Principal: Terri Livingston- terri.livingston@palmbeachschools.org
7th Grade School Counselor: Guadalupe Betancourt- guadalupe.betancourt@palmbeachschools.org
8th Grade Assistant Principal: Frank Argain- frank.argain@palmbeachschools.org
8th Grade School Counselor: Janier Sideregts- janier.sideregts@palmbeachschools.org
ESE Coordinator: Sarah Menor- sarah.menor@palmbeachschools.org
ESOL Coordinator: Carmen Moreira- carmen.moreira@palmbeachschools.org
ESOL Counselors: Luma Burgos- lumarid.burgosrivera@palmbeachschools.org
ESOL Counselor: Leo Polanco- leonel.polanco@palmbeachschools.org
ISA Coordinator: Jorge Montero- jorge.monteromorales@palmbeachschools.org
Single School Culture Coordinator: Jeff Shocket- jeffrey.shocket@palmbeachschools.org

Search
https://www.facebook.com/okeeheeleemiddleschool
https://www.instagram.com/okeeheeleemiddleschool
https://twitter.com/okeeheeleems
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCIK9U-c6_PllykRg3PoZtPA